Gelatine is now classed as a food in its own right and not now subject to the food additives legislation in Europe.

Vegetarians should note that it is obtained, by hydrolysis, from collagen, a protein that gives strength and support to tissues and organs, and is the main constituent of connective tissue in all animals.

Gelatine for food use was normally obtained from pigskins, sometimes cattle hides, whereas that for more expensive uses, such as photographic and pharmaceutical uses, is generally obtained from cattle bones, (a more complex and costly process of extraction is needed for bones).However in a move to get away from porcine and bovine gelatine, more use is now being made of fish gelatine.

More gelatine is sold to the food industry than any other gelling agent and it can be found in chilled dairy products, confectionery, jellies and meat products.

Ammonium phosphatides

 Used mainly as an emulsifier, to lower the surface tension of water so allowing the better combining of oils, fats and water, and as a stabiliser, to prevent separation. Similar in use to Lecithin (E322). Limited use as an antioxidant.

Found in cocoa and chocolate products.

Manufactured either synthetically or from a mixture of Glycerol (E422) and partially hardened rape seed oil.

Vegetarians should note that although industrial manufacturing based on propylene or sugar accounts for a large percentage of glycerol production it can be obtained as a by-product in making soap from animal and vegetable fats and oils.

Sodium, potassium and calcium salts of fatty acids

 Vegetarians beware - can be of animal origin.

Magnesium salts of fatty acids

 Vegetarians beware - can be of animal origin.

Tooken from: